A WOMAN’S WORTH

Oleh : Binita O (TI 2005 ITB)

In a brief conversation, a man asked a woman a question: “What kind of man
 are you looking for?”
 
She sat quietly for a moment before looking him in the eye & asking, ‘Do you
 really want to know?’ Reluctantly, he said, “Yes.”
 
She began to expound “As a woman in this day & age, I am in a position to
 ask a man what he can do for me that I can’t do for myself? I pay my own
 bills. I take care of my household without the help of any man”

 I am in the position to ask, ‘What can you bring to the table?'”
 
The man looked at her. Clearly he thought that she was referring to money.
 She quickly corrected his thought & stated, “I am not referring to money. I
 need something more.
 
I need a man who is striving for excellence in every aspect of life.”
 He sat back in his chair, folded his arms, & asked her to explain.
 
She said, “I need someone who is striving for excellence mentally because I
 need conversation & mental stimulation. I don’t need a simple-minded man.

 I need someone who is striving for excellence spiritually because I don’t
 need to be unequally yoked… believers mixed with unbelievers is a recipe
 for disaster.

I need a man who is striving for excellence financially because I don’t need
 a financial burden.
 
I need someone who is sensitive enough to understand what I go through as a
 woman, but also strong enough to keep me grounded.

 I need someone who has integrity in dealing with relationships. Lies and
game-playing are not my idea of a strong man.
I need a man who is family-oriented. One who can be the leader and provider
 to the lives entrusted to him by God.
 
I need someone whom I can respect. In order to be submissive, I must respect
 him.
 I cannot be submissive to a man who isn’t taking care of his business. I
 have no problem being submissive.. .he just has to be worthy.
And by the way, I am not looking for him…He will find me. He will
recognize himself in me. He may not be able to explain the connection, but
 he will always be drawn to me. God made women to be a help-mate for men. I
can’t help a man if he can’t help himself.”
When she finished her spill, she looked at him.

He sat there with a puzzled look on his face. He said, “You are asking a
lot.”

 She replied, “I’m worth a lot”.

Buatan : Shita Ardiani Rahman (TI 2005 ITB)

Dalam sebuah percakapan seorang laki2 nanya ke seorang cewe : laki2 kayak apa sih yg kamu cari?

Cewenya bilang : kamu bener2 pengen tau??

Cowonya bilang : iya

Dia mulai menjelaskan : sebagai seorang perempuan di zaman sekarang dan di usia segini saya sedang berada di posisi seorang perempuan yg nyari laki2 yg bisa mengerjakan apa yg ga bisa saya lakukan. Saya bisa bayar tagihan saya sendiri dan saya bisa ngurus rumah tangga tanpa pertolongan laki2. Saya lagi berada di posisi seorang perempuan yang bertanya : apa yang bias kamu lakukan buat saya?

Cowonya mikir kalo maksud cewenya mungkin uang kali ya??

Cewenya dengan sigapnya mengoreksi : bukan uang!! Saya minta sesuatu yg lebih Saya butuh seseorang yg berusaha/berjuang di setiap aspek kehidupan Saya butuh laki-laki yang bisa diajak bicara serius,, bertukar pikiran gitu deh,, ga yang simple minded Saya butuh laki-laki yang keagamaannya bagus,, soalnya kalau  cewenya keyakinannya bagus tp cowonya nggak bisa, bahaya Saya butuh laki-laki yang bisa berjuang dalam hal financial, karena saya tidak ingin mendapatkan beban financial Saya butuh laki-laki yang cukup sensitive mengetahui dan memahami bahwa saya sedang mempunyai masalah sebagai seorang wanita, namun juga ia cukup kuat untuk melindungi saya Saya butuh seseorang yang serius dalam membina hubungan, bukan yang main-main Saya butuh laki-laki yang family—oriented, seseorang ang bisa menjadi pemimpin dalam hidup saya, dan saya bisa mempercayakannya pada Tuhan Saya butuh seseorang yg saya bisa respect dan patuh sama dia Saya ga bias patuh sama orang yg ga bisa ngurus urusannya sendiri (a man who isn’t taking care of his business)

Dan ngomong2, saya tidak mencarinya, karena ia akan menemukan saya. Dia akan mengenal dirinya sendiri dalam diri saya. Tuhan menciptakan perempuan untuk menjadi pasangan yang siap membantunya kapan saja. Tapi Saya tidak bisa ngebantu laki-laki yang ga bisa membantu dirinya sendiri. Ketika perempuan itu selesai bicara,

laki2 itu bilang : kamu terlalu banyak permintaan.

Cewenya bilang: karena saya sangat berharga!

~ by sankerenti on June 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
